Saturday, 21 April, 2018

About Kingdom of Bahrain

The Kingdom of Bahrain is an island (archipelago of 33 islands) ruled by Al Khalifa family. Bahrain is the Arabic term for ‘Two Seas’, referring to the freshwater springs that are found within the salty seas surrounding it. This is believed to be the main reason for the creation of natural Bahrain pearls, which used to be the country’s economic pillar before the discovery of oil.


• Bahrain is in the Arabian Gulf near the Eastern Coast of Saudi Arabia
• It measures 741.4 Square Km

Capital : MANAMA
National Day: December 16


Bahrain is divided into five governorates:
1. Capital Governorate
2. Central Governorate
3. Muharraq Governorate
4. Northern Governorate
5. Southern Governorate

Language and Religion

• Arabic is the official language of Bahrain though English is widely used
• Bahrain’s primary religion is Islam

Currency : Dinar
Fixed Exchange Rate : One Bahraini Dinar = US$2.65
Time Zone : Three hours ahead of GMT (GMT +

Designed & Developed by Directorate of Information Technology & Electronic Creativity
Copyrights © GD Ministry of Interior Court